OT – BCUK

Leave a comment

Yes, I know, I got the digest – and I don’t care. I’ve had one lovely message already so far from making me feel ashamed of myself I feel loved and cherished. I have asked for the thread to be squashed to avoid more aggro and I really don’t care being called names by someone that trouble-makey!

A rare personal journal!

DIANA WYNNE JONES – The Lives of Christopher Chant

Leave a comment

Bought 24 Apr 2006 – apparently at the PDSA shop in Kings Heath

Great book, like The Magicians Nephew, written after Charmed Life in order to explain the background to Chrestomanci. We follow the reluctant nine-lifer as he learns to cast spells, move between worlds, and make friends. Excellent – I don’t know why she isn’t revered as much as J.K.Rowling but I think she is getting more popular. Highly recommended, and I have ordered the next 3 Chrestomanci Chronicles from Amazon, and am going to dig out Charmed Life for a reread.

PATRICIA LEITCH – Horse In A Million

Leave a comment

Acquired via BookCrossing 04 May 2006 – kind RABCK from weebly

Another Jinny At Finmory story, though I have missed one out since the last read. Oh well. Another jolly good read with horse stealers and a rival for the gymkhana cup! Great poorly book.

Again, not one I had when I was a kid, so will make available to anyone who wants it!

SHEILA KITZINGER – Ourselves as Mothers: The Universal Experience of Motherhood

Leave a comment

Bought 24 Apr 2006 – PDSA shop, Kings Heath

Very interesting book about pregnancy, birth and motherhood around the world – the main thrust of her arguments being that we can learn a lot from so-called primitive societies which have a much more communual experience of motherhood, that it’s no wonder Western mums get depressed when they’re thrown to their own devices after often never even having seen a newborn before, with much stuff (some of which I had to skip!) about how hospitals treat birth.

This is a little outdated as written in the 1990s, but still interesting, valid and celebratory of all mothers.

And no, not trying to tell anyone anything, I just picked it up out of interest, along with that gay history one from a couple of reviews back!

MARGHANITA LASKI – The Village (Persephone)

Leave a comment

Bought 19 Apr 2006 – Persephone Books

Another excellent Persephone – they can do no wrong! A lovely novel about an English village, just post-war, and the class upheavals which are trying to happen after the levelling aspects of the war. Different characters are drawn very well, it’s absorbing and a nice, fat, satisfying read.

Lots of reading journal entries coming up

Leave a comment

Well it’s 90 degrees in the shed (yes, really – that’s where we’ve got our outside bit of our inside-outside thermometer thingy) and I have succumbed to either the heat or the tummy bug that’s going round, came home from work as do not want to risk dehydration and am sitting reading and reading and READING on the sofa… watch this space…

ALKARIM JIVANI – It’s Not Unusual – A History of Lesbian and Gay Britain in the 20th Century

Leave a comment

Bought 24 Apr 2006 – PDSA in Kings Heath

The book accompanying a TV series we saw a while back, this mixes up individuals’ experiences with a social history of lesbian and gay life in the 20th century in the UK. Interesting and -obviously – a quick read (so great to have time to read now I don’t have the Uncon in my life…)

DOROTHY CANFIELD FISHER – The Home-Maker (Persephone)

2 Comments

Bought 19 Apr 2006

A Persephone book!

Lovely – a deep read and a page-turner, about a husband and wife taking on a role reversal in 1950s small town America. Very pro-child and some beautiful thoughts and sentiments put into the husband’s mouth. The smallest boy is very well observed, and I loved the details about the store too – again, well-observed.

Another lovely Persephone. This was meant to be a home read but I ended up taking it in to work and getting grubby librarian fingerprints on it, which thankfully wiped off!

TOM MASCHLER – Publisher

Leave a comment

Bought 01 Apr 2006 – The Works

Excellent autobiography stroke memoirs of his time in publishing. Once the basic autobiography is out of the way, this becomes a series of memoirs or vignettes on the authors he met during his time as publisher at Jonathan Cape – including such favourites of mine as Bruce Chatwin and Anita Brookner. Laconic and a bit arrogant at times, this is great fun and a definite one for a re-read. Brilliant photos too – I didn’t know what half of these authors actually looked like!

SARATCHANDRA CHATTOPADHYAY – Devdas

Leave a comment

Acquired via BookCrossing 25 Feb 2006 – sent as a RABCK along with a bookring

Ooh it took me a long time to get to this one – sorry! To be honest – this is what happened. I took it out to pop in my handbag to read on the bus. Started to read the introduction and it told everything that happened in the story! As it’s a small book, I was a bit put off and put it aside to read when I’d forgotten that bit. Then it got onto the sofa in my study, which got behind boxes and boxes of BookCrossing books… and only came to the surface again recently! Shame on me!

Anyway – a very – hm, enjoyable isn’t the word – affecting read. Simply told (I presume, from the translation) in the tradition of Narayan and Naipaul, it relies a lot on actions and words rather than thoughts, which is interesting and allows one to fill in the meanings and motives oneself. Paro is dutiful and careful and tries to save Devdas from his path of destruction – and the near miss at the end is heartbreaking.

A lovely book. I will pass it on to a friend who I know will enjoy it (you know who you are hehehe)… or offer it on a BookRing.

Older Entries Newer Entries