Acquired 28 Apr 2006 – from the publisher, Transita

I just finished reading this. I picked it up as I’ve done well with my general TBR and it was time for another off the Transita pile.

Wow. It blew my socks off. I literally could not put it down. I read it in bed. I read it while I was cooking lunch. I read it while I was eating lunch. I walked to the sofa, book in hand, and read it till it was finished.

This book is many things – a love song to North Uist, an enquiry into exactly how art is made (without destroying the art with the enquiry), a thing of beauty, a tug on the heart-strings (I was terrified that something was going to happen to one of these characters that I grew to love), a hymn of praise to the damaged, to the incomplete, a wonderful thing of hope.

And it made me want to take up my sewing again.

I will, of course, be offering this as a BookRing in my next batch.