Acquired via BookCrossing 09 Mar 2009 – BookRing

Julie is a secretary in a govt department in New York, coming up to turning 30, when she decides to spend a year cooking all the recipes in Julia Child’s "Mastering The Art of French Cookery" book. This is the story of what happens next.

I enjoyed this, but not as much as I’d hoped.  I do find that these books that have come out of a blog (I’m thinking One Red Paperclip here) can sometimes be a little lazy and/or flabby – not enough tight editing. I know this is separate from the blog, and brings in about blogging, having regular readers etc, but sometimes it felt a little self-indulgent and could have been a bit tighter.

Not for the squeamish – though she tackles the subjects well and gets across an idea of what it’s like to do the actual cooking.  Goodness I wouldn’t do that – the Good Housekeeping Cookery Book, 1968 is about as exotic as I go.

Some people would be offended by the swearing, attitudes etc in this; didn’t bother me but thought I should put that down. I thought she was a bit silly putting in stuff about how the people at her office didn’t want her to put details about the office in the book… a bit immature.

I don’t really know WHAT I thought of this book – can you tell!? But it was an interesting read and some great moments, if some cringey ones too.