Bought 19 Jan 1995

Not sure if I’ve read this since then.  A fascinating book, full of echoes both within the book and of other works in the oeuvre (both before and afterwards: a lot of the tone reminded me of The Sea, The Sea).  I enjoyed it and am struggling a bit to work out what the others (well, one has not finished as she couldn’t stand it and one says it’s very different from the others, so far) found so different, as to me it fits firmly into the works, tone and subject both, and although slightly odd things happen to some rather unattractive characters, I found it playful (maybe I’m taking too much of an intellectual, cold pleasure in the metafictional aspects and, particularly, the examination of how literary theorists attack texts) and enjoyable.

Will look forward to the ensuing discussion!