26 July 2009 – The Works

After reading some other reviews of this I was prepared not to like it too much, but I was actually pleasantly surprised. Yes, there was bottom-baring and some fart jokes, but they were set within the context of a family that loves playing practical jokes, and the need to let off steam when working in a pressurised theatre or film environment. I did like the stuff about the importance of family, and his realisation that he needed to be honest about being gay and support charities and foundations that helped those less fortunate than themselves. Some lovely photos (inc David Tennant in two!) and, although I’m glad I paid a quarter of the cover price, I’m still glad I picked it up on that BC Birmingham meetup day when I embarassedly showed everyone my new highbrow purchases!