Stats for 2009:
Read: 194
Fiction: 107
Non-Fiction: 87
Did Not Finish: 5

I usually have to put down 10 fiction and 10 non-fiction for my top 10, but I’ve managed to find 10 stand-out books for the year

Fiction:
Francis Brett Young – This Little World
Laura Fitzgerald – One True Theory of Love
Gillian Philip – Crossing The Line
E.H. Stevenson – Miss Buncle’s Book
Rose Tremain – The Road Home
Non-fiction:
David Kynaston – Austerity Britain 1945-51
Andy Beckett – When The Lights Went Out
Haruki Murakami – What I Talk About When I Talk About Running
Charlotte Moseley (ed.) – The Mitfords: Letters Between Six Sisters
Cheryl Bove & Anne Rowe – Sacred Space, Beloved City: Iris Murdoch’s London

Honourable mentions: books:
Alan Bennett – The Uncommon Reader
Charlotte Moseley (ed.) – In Tearing Haste (I had to choose one lot of Mitfords only!)
Oliver Sacks – Oaxaca Journal

Honourable mentions: authors
Debbie Macomber and Iris Murdoch kept me engaged, entertained and happy in their different ways

Worst books:
Mary Anne Shaffer – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society
Rachel Cusk – The Bradshaw Variations