Lent by Jen (who seems to be trying to get me to do a marathon!)

An interesting read. I don’t necessarily agree with everything they say (taking two ibuprofen before every long/hard run?) but there’s a good balance of technical and psychological information and personal experiences from people who’ve taken their marathon course.  I found the visualisation techniques particularly interesting and helpful – both in terms of chanting positive phrases to oneself (silently!) when running, and the idea of creating a personal "video" of positive moments in one’s running, which you can play back to yourself when challenged/tired/needing motivation.  I recall trying to "set" specific moments during the last Birmingham Half, and I have been able to recall these and set them all together to make a very useful and positive thing to focus on.

Thanks for the loan, Jen!