Borrowed from Gill

I’ve been wanting to read this for ages and was on a BookCrossing bookring for it which never materialised – so when Gill said she had a copy, I jumped at the chance to read it (note: I will be making a donation).  

We probably all know what this is about, right – the guy who was climbing in Pakistan, took a detour, met some villagers and decided to try to build some schools.  What I liked about this book was that the author (Relin) declared his partisanship at the beginning but was open about some of the problems other people had with the scheme and with Mortenson.  He also took the trouble to research exactly how it was all done – and we know by now that I like that level of detail.  So a satisfying book – I have read a few like this and it inspires me that people should put so much of their life into helping others.