18 May 2010 (Amazon)

Yup, read out of order. Couldn’t wait that long to catch up with the adventures of Brenda & Effie!

It’s hard to review these books without giving away the plot.  So all I’ll say is that we have more classic adventures, giggles and oohs and aahs as we meet characters old and new, spend more time with Sheila Manchu, and decide who is going to Hell!  In a departure from the first two books, this is written by a narrator rather than in Brenda’s words, but this gives us more of an insight into other characters’ thoughts and feelings.

I particularly liked the nods to classic children’s books – the snow queen from Narnia, Bedknobs & Broomsticks…

Another excellent read that I almost couldn’t put down when I was meant to be working today.  Bring on the next one!

Oh, and for all the BookCrossers, Paul’s publisher has kindly sent me two sets of the Brenda & Effie novels to share with you on book spirals – I’ll be announcing sign-up for them in a few days!