From Library

A set of essays on the British Prime Ministers from Attlee to Blair, this was a slightly odd choice at the beginning, given that I’m also reading "Family Britain 1951-57" at the moment and there was quite a lot of overlap!  All of the essays were interesting, and I particularly liked the one on Heath, as I feel an affection for him after wading through that big biography earlier in the year, and the one on Major, about whom I haven’t read a lot (yet) – it explained very clearly the big successes (social charter, keeping the Conservative party together (ok, not my party of choice, but an achievement) and his big mistakes on the former Yugoslavia.  It was interesting to see that it was still too close in time to get a good view of Blair; we will have to wait for history to make its judgement.

Anyway, very interesting and an excellent overview of this period.