28 Mar 2010 – passed to me by Bridget

This was a very interesting book, but the subtitle had misled me rather, as I was looking forward to finding out how they came up with the concept of New Labour, the background of the main protagonists’ rise to power etc, and really it was a blow by blow account going from election night 1997 till just after the 2001 re-election.  Still, the level of detail he managed to obtain was amazing and it was very interesting – useful to see figures such as the Millibands and Ed Balls rising up through the ranks at this stage and what exactly happened to Mandelson.  I still think there’s more to come out after the 30 years rule and I was basically left wanting to read more – I’m certainly going to read the Blair autobiog at some stage and also the newer Chris Mullin diaries.

Think I’ll be bookcrossing this one…