Here’s the state of the TBR as of the last day in September – I’m pretty sure that, as I’m doing my Libro Bank Reconciliation at some point today, nothing much will change by tomorrow!

I’ve read quite a lot in September, having had one quiet work week and one quiet Libro week plus a couple of train journeys. And I ditched that big black book of collected Diaries that was at the beginning for so long (well, when I say ditched, returned to the BookCrossing meetup from whence it came). But, as you can see, the size of the TBR has not diminished much, if at all, and that’s because I’ve added oodles of books to the end. See that cream book with the red stripe half way up? The white book to the left of that was the end of the TBR this time last month. Oops. But I was given some by a friend, and then bought some that completed series or sets …

Coming up right now are my current reads – a Georgette Heyer omnibus that’s my mealtime read at the moment (having got rid of my Mag Lag, even catching up with The Week, I am now wallowing in “Arabella” at the dinner table) and Stella Gibbons’ rather fascinating “Nightingale Wood”, which I’m half way through. Then I have Simon Armitage’s “All Points North” coming up as a kind of homework, as I’m going to a talk he’s giving at the Birmingham Book Festival on Friday (as a guest of my friend, Sian, who is volunteering at the festival and scored two tickets – thanks, Sian). I bought this book on my birthday in 2000 and haven’t read it since, so that should be a treat (it’s travel narrative and essays, somewhat similar to his new book, I think).

Coming up after these are a couple more Viragoes and two Labour biographies – both of those will be mealtime reads, and I think I may have to add a palate-cleanser in between. I also suspect I know which I will prefer …

What are you planning to read in October, gentle reader? Do tell!