Jan 2013 month of rereadingWell, it’s that time again – my friend Ali and I decided to have a month of re-reading every six months or so, to revisit those books we’ve loved and kept, but not got round to re-reading because of the huge, tottering To Be Read mountain. It went really well in July 2012 (that links to the first post: there’s a category for all of these re-reading posts, too).

It’s quite an ambitious pile this month, but there are some YA books and a Georgette Heyer, which should be quick reads …

Georgette Heyer – “The Nonesuch” – a classic Heyer hero and a great, comforting, favourite author of mind

Susan Cooper – “The Dark is Rising Sequence” – repurchased in the separate volumes; I might be able to get M to join in with this one. An absolutely classic mid-winter read

K.M. Peyton – “Dear Fred” – beloved in my youth, the title forgotten, chased after the story in others of her books then found it was this one thanks to a LibraryThing friend – hooray!

“The Secret of Terror Castle” – I had to work one of the 27 Three Investigators books I pounced on in a charity shop into the mix

Hazel Holt – “A Lot to Ask: A Life of Barbara Pym” – the LibraryThing Virago Group are doing a Pym-a-month readalong this year. I’ve already whizzed through “Some Tame Gazelle” in the last few days, so thought I’d go for the biography this month

Adam Nicolson – “Sea Room: An Island Life” – I’m slightly obsessed with the Nicholson family (Nigel was married to Vita Sackville-West) and devoured Adam’s Sissinghurst book in 2011, so fancied a revisit of this one (it made it onto the non-fic list for the last month of re-reading but I ran out of time)

Jenny Diski – “Skating to Antarctica” – I do like an Antarctic book and was talking about this one with a freelancer friend just before Christmas

Thomas Hardy – “The Mayor of Casterbridge” – this month’s read in Ali’s Chronological Hardy read, and one I have actually read before

Jane Austen – “Persuasion” – I want to “do” a regular Austen, and was vacillating between this and Emma, the two I know least well, though of course I’ve read them all. Ali’s doing this one, so I decided to go for it, too

I’m not sure that I’ll get to all these, but I’ll have fun trying! Ali’s picks are here, and do tell me if you’re going to take part yourself (you don’t have to dedicate the whole month to re-reading, and I’ll be finishing lovely “Daniel Deronda” too) and if you’ve read any of these books.