Working 5 to 9I’m giving this one a review on its own because it’s a business book, and I thought readers of this blog might want to be able to find business book reviews all in one place. So there’s a new category over to the left in the category cloud, too.

I’ve just finished reading Emma Jones’ “Working 5 to 9: How to Start a Successful Business in your Spare Time”. Now, obviously that’s what I’ve done (or if you’re new to this blog, look at the Self-Employment category to find out more) and I’ve moved on to a mature business operating full time, but I still like reading business books, and it’s always interesting to find out what I could have done differently (actually, according to this book, I did OK!).

The book has plenty of general advice, and then the excellent idea of having more than 50 case studies of real people running businesses in their spare time. There’s a bit of information about each, and then valuable insights into how they did it, what they’re doing now, and whether they are going to be giving up the day job. Here I have to admit I was surprised – quite a few of the featured people said, no, thank you, they’d like to keep on the day job, too, which I think is a valuable insight and one which hadn’t struck me as an option once I’d believed that my own business was going to be able to support me on its own.

There’s plenty of good advice on setting up your business, marketing and business plans and using social media in special sections, as well as little hints and tips on work-life balance etc. in the articles about the participants. These participants have businesses ranging from franchise party plan operations through single person crafting and creating to partnerships, giving a bit of information on a wide range of different options. I also liked the fact that I know, or know of, a few people mentioned – I know the Enterprise Nation website and am a member, have met San, who contributes on social media, and Emily Coltman, one of the featured businesspeople, is my go-to person for accounting puzzles and contributed a guest post to the Libro main blog.

All in all I think this would be a very useful book for anyone considering setting up their own business. Although it’s a few years old now, the information and links are still valid. I’d be interested to know how the featured people are doing now – I find this fascinating in my own interview series with small businesses and would love to know how they’re all doing.

Note: I picked up this book via BookCrossing. Although I know Enterprise Nation and some of the people who run it, this is not a sponsored post.