Sep 2013Ooh dear. Not the best TBR in the world, is it! I’ve been doing All Virago/All August but it didn’t go as well as I’d hoped. I had 18 Viragoes, Persephones, Women’s Press and Published By Virago books to read, and managed to get through 11 if you count finishing “The Rector’s Daughter” this morning, but I thought that as most of them were fiction, I’d get through them more quickly. Having said that, the Elizabeth Taylor short stories and the two main non-fiction books I read were fairly hefty and took longer to get through. Anyway, I did get some fab reads in, notably “Fidelity” by Susan Glaspell, “The Rector’s Daughter” by F.M. Mayor (both reviews to come) and Edith Wharton’s “The Custom of the Country”, and I have been reading Anthony Powell’s “Dance to the Music of Time” and am half way through the Summer volume, which does add another book or two to the total …

sept 2013 coming upSo I’m not going to beat myself up about it, I’m just going to look forward to what I can enjoy in September. September’s not a “special month” of anything, after re-reading in July and Virago in August, but I do have a few books which were either written by friends / associates (“Heroines on Horseback” by Jane Badger and “From the Slopes of Olympus to the Banks of the Lea” by Smoke London, which includes my lovely client Jude Rogers) or kindly sent to me by the publishers (the three Bello Books volumes) and I really feel that, even though they’re not officially next on the TBR, I should get to them soon. So I’m putting them first on the TBR, and hope to get them all read and reviewed in the early parts of the month.

Sept 2013 up after thatAnd looking forward, here’s the first section of the TBR in its normal reading order (acquisition order), so I have a nice lot of non-fiction there, moving into some slightly cheesy celebrity / entertainment autobiographies. Some nice autumn reading there, I think. Oh – “Tess” is the Hardy Reading Challenge book for September / October, but I’m going to see how these all go first, as I have the two months for that one. I haven’t read “A Group of Noble Dames” for that, yet, either!

What are you reading this autumn? Do you have any themes coming up, or just wading through the TBR?