Apr 2014 whole tbrHere’s the TBR on 1 April and no, that’s not an April Fool and it’s looking quite good, isn’t it. I have taken a couple of big ones off it (more of those in a moment) and I do have a separate pile of Icelandic books for May, but I’m pleased that I’m getting through books and am up to August 2013 in my customary chronological order. There have been a few additions to the end (check out the Book Confessions category to see them all) and I include two recent arrivals at the end of this post. Just to remove any doubt, the end of the front shelf comes with Underground to Everywhere, leaning slightly about half way along.

Apr 2014 current 2It seems that I only finished 6 books in March, however I have been reading these two lovely big substantial books for a little while now. Dorian Lynskey’s “33 Revolutions Per Minute”, which is a history of protest songs in the 20th century, is an amazing work of painstaking detail, explaining world history and the singers, song writers and songs in a very accessible manner, making it very readable, even as it’s rather hefty.

Apr 2014 current 1I’ve long known that John Major’s autobiography is hailed as a masterpiece of the genre, and I do read works by and about the Conservatives as well as my more natural Labour subjects: they were right, and this is excellent, humane and honest writing, the political biography at its best. He’s only just working his way up through the levels of government at the moment, but it’s very well written and generous, and I’m very much enjoying it. I think it helps that it covers a time period I remember for myself, and the political figures around him are fairly familiar. Another big book that doesn’t seem so.

Apr 2014 TBRComing up next, well, here’s the first section of my TBR in close-up. Now, April should be a good reading month, as I happen to be having a whole week off,  for the first time for ages: nothing fancy, a bit of a staycation and a short trip. M and I are both going to read Charlie Hill’s novel, as well as a more recent BookCrossing acquisition, and I’m looking forward to starting another new George Eliot in “Adam Bede” – if I like it as much as “Daniel Deronda”, I’ll be well away. And look at that lovely biography of Allen Lane, founder of Penguin, too.

Apr 2014 to readI do also want to get to these two this month: I’ve been promising myself a re-read of “Up the Line to Death”, the marvellous collection of WW1 poetry, and my friend Laura lent me “The Heavenly Twins” too long ago for me to not start it soon. So I’m hoping I’ll be able to get to these two with relative speed.

Apr 2014 Icelandic booksI am also of course looking forward to my Icelandic reading in May: here’s the pile as it stands so far, although I note that my only book actually in Icelandic has managed to stay on the main TBR – I’ve moved it now. So I have these lovelies plus a children’s book on volcanoes that I WILL be able to read by the end of May, all to come. I can’t wait!

So, have you read anything that’s on my TBR coming up at the moment? Do share if you have!

Mar 2014 6And before we go, a couple of new acquisitions, courtesy of my lovely friend Verity, reader, triathlete and librarian. She was my Santa in the LibraryThing Virago Group Secret Santa last December: she ordered “So Much to Tell”, the biography of Kaye Webb, founder of Puffin Books, but it didn’t arrive in time to send to me at the time. I was thrilled to receive a parcel of this and the Persephone Book of Short Stories this week: what a lovely treat, and very welcome as a last Christmas splash after the massive pile I clocked up at the time. I’m very much looking forward to these.

So, what are you planning to read in April? Any treats in store?