TBR shelf March 2017Well, here are the shelves in their current state of play, with Greg Rutherford representing the end of the front shelf (this means that until I buy any new books and the back shelf shuffles forward, I will see his face on the back cover, staring at me as I walk into the room …) To be fair on me (maybe), I haven’t acquired any books by BUYING them since my little book token spree at the end of January (however, see below for acquisitions from publishers)

march-2017-currently-readingI’ve just finished “Adventures on the Wheels of Steel” and will be reviewing that next (tomorrow, if I get my act together). These, then, are the two books I’m reading currently. I started reading “Year of No Clutter” by Eve Schaub, which is another NetGalley book with a blog party thing happening on Monday, and much better than I expected, concentrating on her experiences of hoarding and clearing rather than lecturing her readers, on holiday, and the Diana Wynne Jones, “Dark Lord of Derkholm” on the plane – they are both excellent and enjoyable reads so I’m sort of alternating them at the moment.

march-2017-coming-up-in-printComing up, I have these lovely, mainly non-fiction, books mainly bought during my trips to Astley Book Farm and Cornwall. “The Innocents at Home” is a 1950s travel book about America, “The Modern Writer and His World” has a bit about Iris Murdoch, “Mrs Tim” is a light novel, “The Moon Stallion” is the frankly terrifying novelisation of a TV series that scared me witless as a child (so: hooray, although I’m informed the actual book is quite dull – I do hope so) and “Mail Obsession” is about one man’s journey to visit all the postcodes in the UK (just my sort of book!). Then we will make use of an entire tree by carving it into spoons, etc., run with the Kenyans, find out how exactly rock stars stone Mark Ellen’s life and dip into the world of classic school stories. I finished seven books in February, and given the items below, wonder how many of these will be featuring in my April State of the TBR post!

feb-2017I also have the lovely acquisition of a print copy of E. Nesbit’s “The Lark”, which has been kindly sent to me by the folks at Dean Street Press as one of their new Furrowed Middlebrow imprint titles for the spring (Scott from Furrowed Middlebrow has blogged about the upcoming titles here). Also pictured are two lovely, 198-page Rhodia A6 notebooks which just happened to fall into my Bureau Direct shopping basket (you know how it is. But do go and look at their delicious website). These arrived while I was in Iceland, unfortunately alerting Mr Liz to evidence (more evidence) of my rather terrible stationery habit.

mar-2017-kindleBut alas, the STATE OF THE KINDLE is a bit horrend, and I feel I will be clutching this more than a paper book for a good portion of the month. Why, oh why, did I not read these NetGalley books as they came in and schedule reviews? I have another one but I couldn’t make them come onto the same page – The Perils of “Privilege” by Phoebe Maltz Bovy. The non-NetGalley ones on here are the Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett (tell me, please, how could I resist that collection??) and the Elizabeth Fair ebooks, which have all also come from the Furrowed Middlebrow imprint of Dean Street Press. I have explained to them that I’ll be reading these interspersed with other books, so don’t fear that I’ll be flooding you with them!

So what’s your TBR looking like and what will you be reading this month?