Apologies for the shoddy photos this month – I’ve been at the athletics all day (the British trials for the World Championships) and got back a bit late for the light. Anyway, here’s the state of the TBR, and it looks quite bad (the front shelf ends with the big red Angela Carter bio) but actually my mid-June one looked a LOT worse (see the post where I exposed it here). I read just nine books in June (way down from May’s 22!), four non-fiction and five fiction (one not yet reviewed) but finished one this morning.

I’m currently nearly at the end of Francis Brett Young’s “The Black Diamond” and starting a quick crime novel for some light reading while I think about my Shiny New Books review of “ReWild”.

Up next on the shelf are these lovelies:

However, I do appear to have added Paul Flynn’s “Good as You” (about 30 years of gay Britain from the 80s onwards), “The Shadow District”, which I requested AGES ago and forgot about, first in a series about Arnaldur Indriðason’s Detective Erlendur in his early years, and Naomi Klein’s “No is Not Enough”, about direct action to take in these difficult world times, all from NetGalley. I might get my 25 Reviews NetGalley badge soon but will take a while to work back up to my 80% reviewed status! So a mix of e and paper books this month, I expect.

Plus I’ll be reading those three Cornwall books on the Pile soon enough, as I have a weekend in Cornwall with my photo-a-day group coming up. Exciting!

Not taking part in the LibraryThing Virago Group read this month (Rumer Godden – I like her – she’s not on my TBR) means I can concentrate on #20BooksofSummer. And having added two  books I’d forgotten to link, I’ve now read books from 67 of my 100 years in my Century of Reading!

What are you planning to read in July? Are you doing any challenges?