Well, here’s the current state of the TBR and it’s, erm, about the same as it was last month? I’ve actually got round to adding things up now, and I read 13 books in July … but I acquired 12 (Oh, I’ve reviewed 11, don’t worry. The Marian Keyes I read has to be reviewed next month and the Stuart Maconie will come out on Shiny New Books in a few days and then on here, too). The print ones all appear under the Book Confessions tag, but I do appear to have snuck some through on the e-book side, too – you can see which ones I downloaded in July from NetGalley in the photo below, plus I can confess to having bought the e-books “The KLF” by John Higgs and “Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike” by Phil Knight. Oops. No wonder this picture is similar to July’s!

Moving on hastily, these are the two books I’m currently reading. I’m kind of toying with “Run for your Life” as it’s not really what I expected, being a plan for sorting your problems out while running which isn’t coming at the right time for me really, but it does have some interesting points, for example on how to listen while running, so I will persevere. “The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts” is a well-written and intelligent delight, it really is – with references to Angela Thirkell – yes, it is a romance, but there’s plenty more detail about running a bookshop, etc., and a range of interesting characters. I bought this because I won the sequel on NetGalley and I’m really looking forward to that now.

Coming up, well, here’s the paper version. I will be going against my “read in acquisition order” policy here, although actually all of the front row of my TBR apart from “Eat & Run” arrived for Christmas or Birthday or was bought with a book token in January, so they’re not exactly widely spaced out. Anyway, thanks to the 20 Books Of Summer project, and All Virago / All August, which is a challenge done in the LibraryThing Virago Group online, once I’ve read “Eat & Run”, I will be picking off the two Virago books and three Persephones before the other books by other publishers. Shocking, I know, but fortunately I do do this every August. I also suspect I’ll be saving the Simon Armitage for when I’m in Cornwall again later in the year. Other books that will feature this month are Linda Gillard’s two in my Pile so I can get them all shared out via BookCrossing.

And here’s my NetGalley TBR, in publication order – if you can see this (can you expand it?), you will see that I haven’t had the older ones for ages but downloaded them fairly recently.  I will make a big effort to read the ones that are being published in August or are just published, and will I’m sure push on to the second “Little Bookshop” volume.

How’s your TBR?