A lovely coffee-table book today which wasn’t in my planned reading for the month, but it’s been flopping around on my TBR shelf and having to be carefully fitted in and not dropped, and so I decided it was time to bring it out and leaf through it. I’ve been reading it gradually through the month, a lovely alternative place to go at quite a busy time! Also watch out for some book confessions …

Alan Powers – “Living With Books”

(21 January 2017 – from Gill, for my birthday)

How exciting a book that arrived this year being read out of the TBR, but as I explained above, it is slightly out of order – you can see it with the turquoise spine in the picture.

It’s  a lovely, lavishly illustrated book full of beautiful photos of rooms in houses and other spaces full of books, too perfect to be actually inspiring for something you’d do in your own house, but delightful to look at!

It’s bookended (hah) by a history of books and their production and a section on how to make your own bookshelves and the care of books, so it’s a lovely resource. It looks at topics as large as home offices and as niche as trompe d’oeil wall coverings and is a delight to read through.


I’ve recently acquired Daniel Tammet’s “Every Word is a Bird We Teach to Sing: Encounters with the Mysteries & Meanings of Language” to review for Shiny New Books, plus Robert Andrew Powell’s “Running Away” about marathon running and Virginia Hanlon Grohl’s (Dave Grohl’s mum!) “From Cradle to Stage: Stories from the Mothers Who Rocked and Raised Rock Stars”, the latter two in the Kindle sale although I feel I’ll want the last one in a real book. I’ve also won a book on self-publishers through the ages from the LibraryThing Early Reviewers programme, having not requested anything for months and months, but that hasn’t arrived yet.

I’m still reading “Madame Solario” but fear I won’t have it done by the end of August or the end of #20Books as it is a biggie. Very good, though. I’m off to the Iris Murdoch Conference at the weekend, so will be taking the Tammet and some post-its and my Kindle to that and trying not to come back with too many more tomes …