I never knew these American “Saddle Club” novels growing up, but I’d aged out of any pony books but ones I already knew by the time these started publishing in 1988 (these are 1990s editions). Matthew found them for me in the San Diego Public Library library sale on a work trip, which is why I’ve left the price stickers on (25c each!). Out of the nine print books I acquired in March 2023, I have now read and reviewed six (and two of the others are in Spanish, while one is on my 20 Books of Summer). And yes, I did pick two “quick wins” from my older TBR to make some space on the shelves towards the end of last month. They also form part of my 2024 TBR project which I’m galloping through at the moment, ha ha.

Bonnie Bryant – “Horse Crazy” (The Saddle Club #1)

(6 March 2023, from Matthew)

In the first in a massive series of 101 books (some written by ghostwriters, apparently), we meet Stevie and Carole and their new friend Lisa, who comes to the stables to learn to ride. Stevie gets embroiled in a scheme to make money to go on an overnight trek they’re all keen on and of course needs to learn a thing or two. The usual rivalries and learning points ensue, and we learn a bit about horse care as we go along. I was pleased to read Carole is African American, although really in these two books there’s nothing to distinguish her experience from that of the others; still, I don’t think I’ve seen a Black girl in a British pony book (tell me if I’m wrong!).

Bonnie Bryant – “The Secret of the Stallion” (The Saddle Club Super Edition #2)

(6 March 2023, from Matthew)

The Super Editions are apparently a spin-off series, a bit longer than the originals, and here we get the amusement, found with the Three Investigators series, too, of an American author writing about Europe. The girls, plus nemesis Veronica, posh and self-absorbed, go to the UK to do a pony club exhibition at a three-day event. They have adventures in a very American London and that old school story staple of an Alarming Event happens, with people having to be saved. It’s interesting that class issues play out in US as well as UK horsey circles, with Veronica enthusiastically joining in but making a fool of herself.

Two fun novels, I would pick up more of these if I encountered them but won’t make a huge effort to buy the other 100-odd (also there seem to be a fair number of animal deaths in subsequent books!).

These are Books 33 and 34 in my 2024 TBR project – 107 to go!