Acquired via BookCrossing 28 Jan 2006 – BookRing

OK book about nearly moving to Hay-on-Wye, ruined by his constant bitching and moaning about Britain and the British.

Half way through comments:
Love the bits about the old books and the bookshops.

Not so keen (that would be classic English understatement) on the way he continously slags off the “British” (by which he actually means “English”). I’m all for a robust and backed-up criticism of my country – who isn’t. But, for example, Bill Bryson does it with humour and affection. This guy just seems plain mean.

I’m sad that it’s helped people who don’t know the country think we’re slow-moving like the book (this is not a criticism of the person who said that -it’s a criticism of the book and its misrepresentations)

I just wanted to state, for the record, as a perfectly normal, fast-enough-moving, 34 year old woman, living in a perfectly average house with her perfectly normal partner.

1. We only drink 1-2 cups of tea per day
2. We have fine teeth, thanks! No “horse-gummed gingivitis” here
3. Not one of the rooms of our (average) house is as small as 8 ft by 6 ft

I would be very interested to hear what other UK people feel about this book. Like I said, i don’t think we’re perfect and I will happily take criticism, and criticise my country myself, but a lot of this seemed unfounded and petty, put in to give people a laugh – but will also serve to misinform.

I will, however be finishing the book, of course!!

Comments at the end:
Well, I’ve finished this now and I’m afraid I haven’t changed my opinion – in fact there were more nasty comments throughout (yes, it does get light here!). Sorry to be so negative about it – I did enjoy the bits about books and bookselling and I am glad I got the chance to read it!